Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Truth or Dare
Cover of Truth or Dare
Truth or Dare
Truth or Dare Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow

When a simple round of truth or dare spins out of control, three girls find it's no longer a party game—it's do or die.
It all started on a whim: The game was a way for Tenley Reed to reclaim her popularity, a chance for perfect Caitlin "Angel" Thomas to prove she's more than her Harvard application. Loner Sydney Morgan wasn't even there; she was hiding behind her camera, as usual. But when all three start receiving mysterious dares long after the party has ended, they're forced to play along, or risk exposing their darkest secrets.
How far will Tenley, Caitlin, and Sydney go to keep the truth from surfacing? And who's behind this twisted game? Set against the backdrop of Echo Bay, an isolated beach town haunted by misfortune, Truth or Dare is the first book in the Truth or Dare series, and will keep readers in suspense from beginning to end.

When a simple round of truth or dare spins out of control, three girls find it's no longer a party game—it's do or die.
It all started on a whim: The game was a way for Tenley Reed to reclaim her popularity, a chance for perfect Caitlin "Angel" Thomas to prove she's more than her Harvard application. Loner Sydney Morgan wasn't even there; she was hiding behind her camera, as usual. But when all three start receiving mysterious dares long after the party has ended, they're forced to play along, or risk exposing their darkest secrets.
How far will Tenley, Caitlin, and Sydney go to keep the truth from surfacing? And who's behind this twisted game? Set against the backdrop of Echo Bay, an isolated beach town haunted by misfortune, Truth or Dare is the first book in the Truth or Dare series, and will keep readers in suspense from beginning to end.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    5.3
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
    UG
  • Text Difficulty:
    4

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Jacqueline Green received a BA from Cornell University and an MFA in writing for children from the New School. She grew up in Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and their tiny dog. She is the author of the Truth or Dare series.

Reviews-
  • DOGO Books bellz - THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD BECAUSE IT TALKS ABOUT GIRLZ AND HOW THY DO LITTLE THINGS......
  • Kirkus

    April 1, 2013
    A well-plotted suspense tale aims itself at the Pretty Little Liars fan base. Two wealthy BFFs, Caitlin and Tenley, suspect that Sydney, a scholarship girl they've always disliked, lurks behind a nasty truth-or-dare game targeted at them. They don't know that Sydney also receives menacing notes threatening to expose the three girls' hidden pasts. The girls strive to overachieve: Caitlin's mother pressures her to get into Harvard, so she takes on far too many extracurricular activities; Tenley's mother insists that she continue winning teen beauty contests; Sydney uses her passion for photography to escape from the pressures of high school society. Serious tensions abound in all three of the girls' families, and all try to hide confidential problems: Caitlin hasn't truly recovered from being kidnapped as a child; Tenley has had breast augmentation; Sydney has a craving to set fires. Numerous possible suspects surface, although Green doesn't drop any noticeable hints that would tip readers off to the solution. This, when revealed, leads to suspense and a major surprise and propels readers into the next installment in the series. Befitting its genre, the story focuses on popular, beautiful girls, turmoil over boys (all of them devastatingly handsome) and girl-girl rivalries. As it switches the point of view among the three girls, the story moves ahead nicely and should hold readers' interest quite well. Good intrigue designed for the chick-lit crowd. (Suspense. 12 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2013) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    June 1, 2013

    Gr 9 Up-Quiet and disturbed Sydney, Ivy League-bound Caitlin, and spoiled beauty Tenley are the focus of this chilling tale. To establish herself as the party queen of Echo Bay, Tenley hosts a huge blowout that ends with an intense game of truth or dare. But long after the game is over, someone forces the girls to keep playing. Sydney would rather be developing photos in the darkroom, Caitlin barely has time to sleep with all of her college application-padding activities, and Tenley is just trying to fit in again after almost four years away. However, the three are receiving notes threatening them with exposure of their darkest secrets if they do not perform dares. The teens vacillate between going along, accusing one another and others of being behind the notes, and involving the police. The game gets deadlier, stakes get higher, and someone won't survive it. Green offers an edge-of-your-seat thriller. The characters are all well drawn and believably flawed. There is a good deal of underage alcohol consumption and some drug use and sex. The protagonists' fluctuating reactions to the horrible game are realistic and everyone is a suspect in this town. With just the tiniest hint of the supernatural, Echo Bay itself seems haunted. Creepy and dark to the core, this is a great offering for fans of Lois Duncan and Christopher Pike.-Tara Kehoe, Plainsboro Public Library, NJ

    Copyright 2013 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • School Library Journal Green offers an edge-of-your-seat thriller. The characters are all well drawn and believably flawed...Creepy and dark to the core, this is a great offering for fans of Lois Duncan and Christopher Pike.
  • Kirkus Reviews A well-plotted suspense tale....Good intrigue designed for the chick-lit crowd.
  • The Bulletin The suspense winds tautly, and the story proceeds at a flawless pace...a perfect choice for vacation reading.
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 1 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Truth or Dare
Truth or Dare
Truth or Dare Series, Book 1
Jacqueline Green
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel